I wanted to start sewing but I had no idea where to start. It took me a couple weeks to gather everything I needed to even start my first project. I’ve made a list of tools to help you have an easier time getting into this hobby. Substitutions have also been mentioned to help you lower costs. After the first two projects, most people will know whether they want to continue sewing or not. You won’t need the “advanced tools,” mentioned below, until project three or four.

Beginner’s Tools

Sewing Machine and it’s included accessories

Measuring Tape – A ruler and any type of string is also a good substitute.

Black & White Fabric Pencil – Pens, pencils or markers that have washable ink will work as well.

Ruler – This should be sturdy enough so that you can use it to make a straight edge.

Fabric Scissors – Regular scissors will also do for now. Keep in mind the cuts you make may not be perfect.  If you’re 100% sure this is a hobby you will be continuing years down the line go ahead and invest in a good pair. Fabric scissors can last a lifetime if you take care of it; do not use it to cut paper or anything else that is not fabric.

Seam Ripper & Snippers – This is used to fix any small mistakes.

Iron – You will need an iron to press out the creases in your fabric. We will also be using it to bond certain fabrics in later projects.

Ironing Board or Mat – An ironing board is nice but not everyone has room for it. An ironing mat or bath towel on a flat non-plastic surface will work too.

Press Cloth – Using a press cloth will protect your fabric from the high heat. A good substitute would be a clean thin fabric that would not transfer ink: muslin, cotton etc. I just used a plain and solid cotton shirt.

Straight Pins – They will hold your fabric in place as you sew. I recommend the ones with ball heads for easier grip.

Cutting Mat/Craft Mat (optional) – You don’t always need a cutting mat. A lot of people can get perfect measurements and right angles without them. I am not one of those people.

Advanced Tools

Base Threads – I like to have large spools of blue, red, black and white on hand. Most projects can be sewn with black and white. I like to use blue and red for the bottom stitches of my basting.

Extra Bobbins – Extra bobbins are very handy when a project needs multiple colors of thread.

Rotary Cutter – A pair of scissors can help you cut around curves but a rotary cutter will give accuracy to straight edges. I use a rotary cutter instead of scissors for most of my projects.

Double-Sided Fabric Tape – You can’t use pins in textiles like leather and vinyl. Double sided fabric tape is clear, won’t gum up your machine and still keeps textiles in place while sewing.

 

